News Article

Amy Crossland can win 2010 Youngbloods

25 / 06 / 2010 Article by: Editor

Twenty year old Amy Crossland is well placed to become the fourth female to win the Bullock Consulting Youngbloods. The series, now in its 25th year, was won by Leanne Barker in 1988, Tammy Mollross in 1991, 1992 and 1993 and Tamra Fawdry in 1992.

The last two heats of the six heat series will be decided at the The TOTE Racing Centre (Launceston) on Sunday night. Crossland is in equal second place with 28 points and is three points behind Brendan Gebel but appears to have two very good chances of closing the gap.

In heat five she has drawn Little Miss Madam from the in form Ben Yole stable. A former South Australian pacer, Little Miss Madam has started four times in Tasmania and was an impressive second after death seating at The TOTE Racing Centre two starts back.

Little Miss Madam has drawn ideally in barrier one and her previous win was from the same barrier at Globe Derby (Adelaide) when she led throughout. The danger and short price favourite will be Enchanted Heart for Braydon Withers, who has 24 points.

Crossland will partner the favourite Lugovoi Leis in the final heat. The Barrie Rattray trained gelding drops appreciably in class after a fast finishing last start second to boom three year old Gedlee.

Crossland is one of two young mothers in the series. Her son Benjamin is almost two years old and Melissa Maine (22 years old) is the mother of two year old Jackson. Melissa is 10 points behind the leader and needs to win with Brown Paige (Heat 5) or Frosty Stumpjumper to have any chance of taking out the series.

Points after heat four are:

Brendan Gebel 31

Amy Crossland 28

David Medhurst 28

James Johnson 26

Justin Howlett 24

Bradley Wise 24

Braydon Withers 24

Nathan Ford 22

Melissa Maine 21

Ben Rossendell 21

Drivers are allocated 12 points for a win, nine for second, eight for third, down to one for tenth.

Winners of previous series are:

1985-86 Richard Housego and Leigh Dornauf

1986-87 Scott Ford

1987-88 Leanne Barker and Nathan Postlethwaite

1988-89 Darren Jacobson

1989-90 Darren Withers

1990-91 Tammy Mollross

1991-92 Tammy Mollross and Tamra Fawdry

1992-93 Tammy Mollross

1993-94 Darrin Denny

1994-95 Phillip Ford

1995-96 Matthew Dwyer

1996-97 Phillip Ford

1997-98 Heath Szczypka

1998-99 Nathan Garwood

1999-2000 Nathan Garwood

2000-01 Nathan Garwood

2001-02 Andrew Rawlings

2002-03 James Rattray

2003-04 James Rattray

2004-05 Brendan Gebel

2005-06 James Austin

2006-07 Mark Yole

2007-08 David Medhurst

2008-09 Todd Rattray