News Article

Awards night closes in

07 / 07 / 2011 Article by: Editor
Brendon McCoull - he will win his 12th jockey's premiership
icon Click to enlarge

TASMANIA’S best performed gallopers and star industry participants from the past and present will be honored at this year’s Racehorse of the Year Awards at the Country Club Resort in Launceston on August 26.

The best performed horses in three categories will be judged on their performances during the season with the two-year-old and open categories likely to produce landslide victories to Triple Asset and Dream Pedlar respectively.

However, finding the best three-year-old will be a tough one to sort out for the judges with Tasmanian Guineas winner Socks one of the leading contenders.

Socks went amiss midway through his campaign but he may have done enough to get the judges’ nod with stablemates Punctuate and Sorell Miss and Strutt Stakes winner Tough Chik also worthy contenders.

The leading trainer and jockey awards are already set in stone with the father and son training partnership of David and Scott Brunton set to win back-to-back premierships.

They have prepared 84 winners to be almost double that amount clear of their nearest rival Charlie Goggin.

With only three meetings remaining this season Brendon McCoull will win his 12th premiership.

McCoull notched his 100th winner for the season at Tattersall’s Park last Sunday and he is 45 clear of his nearest rival Stephen Maskiell.

McCoull and Maskiell both rode trebles at last Sunday’s Hobart meeting while team Brunton also snared a training treble.

The leading apprentice title has virtually been handed to Victorian Talia Rodder who only needs to ride two more winners to own the title.

Rodder has 32 wins to her credit and is one behind Ronan Keogh but with Keogh sidelined for up to eight weeks with a broken collarbone the way has been paved for the Victorian-based rider to take the title.

This year’s Hall of Fame inductees is sure to be a highlight of the night with five more names to be added to the list of champions to have made their way into the prestigious club.

The judging panel has confirmed there will be a trainer, jockey, horse and associate in this year’s intake and that an existing equine member will upgraded to Legend status.