News Article

Rattray and Duggan vie to represent Australia

16 / 10 / 2014 Article by: Peter Staples
Ricky Duggan icon Click to enlarge

Gareth Rattray and Ricky Duggan will represent Tasmania at the inaugural Australian Drivers Championship to be held at Globe Derby in South Australia on Saturday night.

The six race series will be contested by two drivers from each state and the 12 drivers have been randomly allocated to a horse in each race.

There will be seven starters across the front line and Rattray appears to have fared better than Duggan in the barrier draws. Rattray has two pole marbles and an inside second line trailing draw. His other draws are three, five and 10. Duggan received no favours when the fields were declared with barrier draws of six, nine, 10, 11 (twice) and 13.

Races two to seven make up the Australian Drivers Championship but both Rattray and Duggan will drive in the other two races and the same scenario has occurred. Rattray has drawn barriers two and five with Duggan starting from four and eight.

Other state representatives are Grant Dixon and Peter McMullen (Qld), Blake Fitzpatrick and Amanda Turnbull (NSW), Chris Alford and Greg Sugars (Vic), David Harding and Ryan Hryhorec (SA) and Gary Hall Jnr and Chris Voak (WA).

The drivers will accumulate points across the six race series with performances factored into the selection of the drivers to represent Australia at the World Driving Championships in Sydney next year.