News Article

Smoken Up’s Cup hopes improve at barrier draw

18 / 12 / 2009 Article by: Editor

Smoken Up was the big winner at this afternoon’s barrier draw for Friday night’s $400,000 Group 1 SEW-Eurodrive Victoria Cup.

The Lance Justice-trained-and-driven front-runner landed the coveted inside barrier for Victoria’s premier Grand Circuit mobile event, which for the first time will be run at Melton’s TabcorpPark.

Gate one is the most successful barrier in recent Victoria Cup history with four wins in the past 13 years, the latest being Melpark Major’s track record-shattering all-the-way win last year at MooneeValley.

The draw presents the son of Tinted Cloud with his best chance to claim an elusive major win.

A last-start second placegetter in the SEW-Eurodrive Miracle Mile, the gelding also ran second to Robin Hood in the 2007 Victoria Cup, was beaten a lip by Blacks A Fake in a Hunter Cup and ran third in the 2008 Watpac Inter Dominion Final.

Smoken Up wasn’t the only big name to draw well. Last year’s Watpac Inter Dominion and BIG6 Hunter Cup winner Mr Feelgood drew perfectly in two with Australasian prizemoney record-holder Blacks A Fake alongside in three.

In contrast to last year, Melpark Major received an average draw in barrier five, while Miracle Mile winner Monkey King’s quest for a fourth-straight Barastoc Grand Circuit victory received a serious blow when it was allocated gate 13 – outside the back row.

The SEW-Eurodrive Victoria Cup (2240m) is race eight on a bumper 10-race card and will be run at 9.40pm (EDST).

$400,000 Group 1 SEW-EurodriveVictoria Cup


Lance Justice Lance Justice



MR FEELGOOD Anthony Butt Tim Butt



BLACKS A FAKE Natalie Rasmussen Natalie Rasmussen




CINCINNATI KID Mark Peace Mark Peace



MELPARK MAJOR Alan Tubbs Amy Tubbs



BE GOOD JOHNNY John McCarthy John McCarthy



WASHAKIE Luke McCarthy Luke McCarthy


  —–second row—–  


MAFFIOSO Peter Tonkin Chris Alford Emerg



BETTORS STRIKE Cran Dalgety Dexter Dunn



BOLD CRUISER Glenn Douglas Daryl Douglas



CANT BLUFF ME Ian Wilson Jimmy Douglass



OHOKA NEVADA Tony Peacock Damian Wilson



MONKEY KING Brendon Hill Ricky May