News Article

Winning dams dominate Tassie yearling sale

23 / 12 / 2009 Article by: Editor
Race-winning dams a feature at 2010 sale
icon Click to enlarge

OVER half the draft of 42 yearlings at the 2010 Tasmanian Premier Yearling Sale, are from race-winning mares.

The sale will be held at the Inveresk Showground, Launceston on January 16, starting at noon.

Heading the list of dams are Evicus Stakes winner Carla Ross, Cadbury Sweepstakes winner Kirra Point, El Jays Belle (Tas. Belmont) and Hotncold (Shirley Hills Memorial) and the sub two-minute winners Im In Chains, Our Heritage and Lady Lucy.

The Harold Park winner Beena Karalta and the Group placegetters El Jays Angel, Lucyna, Denneice Bay, Mollys Melodrama and Nothing Gained also have yearlings at the sale.

The 42 dams have left the winners of over 210 races between them.

They include the Tasmanian Sires Stake champions Karalta Crown, Johnny Applesead 1:59.5 and Mon Poppy Mary, Celtic Ross 1:59.4 (Tas. Governor’s Cup), Karoola Town (Reece Memorial), Be Good Jenna (Tas. Sales Classic) and the metropolitan winners Beena Buster 1:56.8 ($152,518), Fake Idee 1:58.3, Beenas Gift 1:59.2 and Hanover Kelly 1:56.6.

The grand-dams have left top horses such as B H Cullen 1:55.1 (Vic. Legends), Miss Paula 1:59.5 ($159,395), Yada Yada Yada 1:51.6 ($555,671), Boa Vista Lombo (Bathurst Gold Tiara), Foxfighter 1:57.7 ($155,644), Beena Buster, Karalta Crown, Crimson Knight 1:58.2 (Vic. Derby heat) and the Tas. Sires Stake champions Torada Power, Simply Electric and Seddon Mitch.

The sale will be preceded by a yearling parade at 10am.

For a catalogue or further information contact Davidson Cameron Board & Simmons representatives Peter Dow (0412 195 986) or Kerry Lynch (02 6884 8355). Yearling DVD’s will be available from Tasracing Harness Manager Kevin Neilson (03 6212 9316) from 30 December.

Full pedigrees can be viewed on the website: